About Us

About Us

Pink Lady's Slipper ~ Club Flower

Pink Lady Slipper Club Flower

The Garden Club of Norfolk was founded in December of 1985, with Helena Drolette as its founding President. The Club joined the Garden Club Federation of Massachusetts, Inc. in February of 1988, as part of the Central South District. The Garden Club of Norfolk is a member of the Garden Club Federation of Massachusetts, Inc. 

The Garden Club of Norfolk is a non-profit organization that instructs its members and the public on all areas of horticulture and stimulates interest in the beautification of our community. Our club is a member of the Garden Club Federation of Massachusetts and is thriving after 35 years. Our active and honorary members are interested gardeners with all levels of experience.

Our Objectives

  • The advancing of gardening through education and community service
  • The furthering of civic beautification
  • The sharing of our love of gardening
Join Us

We welcome new members. Contact Susan McCarthy, our President, if you are interested in joining our club. Our email is gardenclubofnorfolkma@gmail.com

Club Officers

President  – Susan McCarthy
Recording Secretary  – Stephanie Hamel
Corresponding Secretary – Amy Ricci
Treasurer  – Linda Daly
Membership – Jill Kennedy

Our Program

Our program includes guest speakers from our community and throughout the New England area who share their expertise in horticulture, floral design, conservation, civic beautification, landscape design, and gardening. We also provide hands-on craft and flower arranging workshops.

Meetings and Workshops

Our meetings and workshops are held on the second Wednesday of each month at 6:30 p.m., except in July and August when there are no meetings. Meetings take place in the Community Room of the Norfolk Public Library unless otherwise noted in the calendar.

NCG (Norfolk Community Gardens)

NCG is organized by a core group of members who are committed to civic beautification and who have taken ownership of particular areas within the Town of Norfolk. Each NCG area has its own committee; any member is welcome to join and help in any of the areas. Each committee is responsible for the design, planting, and maintenance (deadheading, weeding, watering) of their ACE area during the summer months. Each committee acts independently, and the club provides flowers. The Garden Club is currently responsible for the following areas: Center of Town Roundabouts, H. Olive Day School Sign, H. Olive Day School Butterfly Garden, Federated Church Butterfly Garden, Stony Brook Butterfly Garden, Fire Station Sign, Town Hall Sign, Town Hall Planters, Town Hill Adele’s Bird House Garden, Town Hill Herb Garden, Town Hill Rose Garden, Welcome to Norfolk Sign, and Library Entrance Garden. Each month the Garden Club also places a floral arrangement in the Norfolk Public Library.


Winter Fundraiser
For the past several years club members have sold wreath bows at the Lions Club annual Christmas Tree Sale. In additon, an online sale was posted for holiday arrangements, bows and swags for previously decorated sleds

Spring Plant and Bake Sale
Each spring, a Plant and Bake Sale, is held on the Norfolk Town Hill and Gazebo. A wide selection of perennials supplied from our club members’ gardens benefit civic beautification and club projects. Members are on hand to answer gardening questions.

2022-2023 Committees

Awards and Grants – Liz Davey (Chair), Emily Nicodemus, Steph Hamel, Michele Drolette
Camperships/Scholarships – June Reinhardt, Stephanie Hamel
Club Photographer – Sabrina Farley

Community Events
Succulent Sale –
Fran Sullivan, Jill Kennedy, Tori Ward, June Reinhardt
Norfolk Community Day – Fran Sullivan, Jill Kennedy, Tori Ward

Facebook posts (Gardening Around Norfolk) – Sam Benton, Lyn Benton
Holiday Baskets for the Norfolk Food Pantry – Michele and Helena Drolette
Library Display Case
– June Reinhardt, Kathleen Sebring, Janel Amador
Norfolk Civic Gardens Chair – Fran Sullivan
Newsletter – Susan McCarthy

Plant and Bake Sale
Plant Sale Coordinator – Michelle Noonan
Bake Sale Coordinator – Open
Yard Sale Coordinator – Open
Lawn Signs Coordinator – Stephanie Hamel

Membership Book – Emily Nicodemus, Stephanie Hamel, Susan McCarthy
Website – Emily Nicodemus, Stephanie Markham
Winter Fundraiser – Emily Nicodemus, Stephanie Hamel, Joanne Wason
Yearbook (Digital) – Susan McCarthy, Emily Nicodemus, Stephanie Hamel
Zoom Coordinator – Stephanie Hamel

Norfolk Civic Gardens – Fran Sullivan

Adele’s Birdhouse Garden – Town Hill, 2 Liberty Lane
Leslie Lincoln chair (c), Ann Hanssen, Angela Kent, Shannon Murphy (watered by town)

Federated Church Butterfly Garden – 1 Union Street
Michelle Noonan (c), Fran Sullivan, Fran Sullivan, Laurna Allen, Jill Kennedy

Fire Station – 117 Main Street
Amy Ricci (c), Susan Asensio

H Olive Day School Butterfly Garden, Flagpole and Sign – 232 Main Street
Stephanie Hamel (c), Emily Nicodemus, Stephanie Knoch, Sabrina Farley, Janel Amador, Janine Kizik

Herb Garden – Town Hill, 2 Liberty Lane
Susan Brindley (c), Liz Davey, Laurna Allen, Sabrina Farley (watered by town)

Library Entrance – Norfolk Public Library, 2 Liberty Lane
June Reinhardt, Janel Amador

Library Flowers
A floral arrangement is placed in the Norfolk Public Library each month. The member providing it is responsible for freshening and watering the arrangement as appropriate during the month and removing it at the end of the month. Members may be reimbursed up to $25 for their arrangement.
July – Fran Sullivan
August – Kathleen Callahan
September – Michele Drolette
October – Sally Eykel
November – Sharon Pierce
December – Helena Drolette
January – Kathleen Callahan
February – Sharon Pierce
March – Susan McCarthy
April – Susan Schmidt
May – June Reinhardt
June – Open

Rose Garden – town Hill, 2 Liberty Lane
Liz Davey (c), Susan Brandley, Janet Turner, Sabrina Farley, Llinda Hennessy, Kathleen Callahan

Roundabouts (2) Route 115 & Main Street (Ware Circle) and Liberty Lane (Avery Circle)
Joanne Wason (c), Jill Kennedy, Tori Ward

Senior Center Planter – 28 Medway Branch
Lyn & Sam Benton (c), June Reinhardt, Kathleen Sebring

Stony Brook Butterfly Garden – 108 North Street
Stephanie Markham (c), Linda Daly, Emily Nicodemus, Stephanie Hamel, Fran Sullivan

Town Hall Planters – 1 Liberty Lane
Janet Turner (c), Tori Ward

Town Hall Sign – 1 Liberty Lane near road of Town Hall
Leslie Lincoln (c), Stephanie Hamel, Janel Amador

Veterans Garden – 24 Seekonk Street, Norfolk Cemetery
Rick Tedoldi (c), Stephanie Hamel, Emily Nicodemus, Tyler Payne, Janel Amador

Welcome to Norfolk Sign – at stone wall near Route 115-Main Street Roundabout
Susan McCarthy (c)

Former Presidents

2021-2023  Susan McCarthy
2021-2019  Michelle Noonan, Emily Nicodemus
2017-2019  Michele Drolette, Anne Prior
2015-2017  Liz Davey
2013-2015  Sharon Pierce
2011-2013  Martha  Richardson
2010-2011  Mary Gould
2008-2010  Brenda Zolli
2005-2008  Gail Tuveson
2003-2005  Helena Drolette
2002-2003  Anna Sevy
2000-2002  Gail McCaffrey
1998-2000  Gail Tuveson
1996-1998  Helena Drolette
1994-1996  Lisa Shook
1993-1994  Rita Partridge
1991-1993  Debby DeBello
1989-1991  Jan Conklin
1988-1989  Tricia Cochran
1987-1988  Joan Smith
1985-1987  Helena Drolette