About Us

About Us

Pink Lady's Slipper ~ Club Flower

Pink Lady Slipper Club Flower

The Garden Club of Norfolk was founded in December of 1985, with Helena Drolette as its founding President. The Club joined the Garden Club Federation of Massachusetts, Inc. in February of 1988, as part of the Central South District. The Garden Club of Norfolk is a member of the Garden Club Federation of Massachusetts, Inc. 

The Garden Club of Norfolk is a non-profit organization that instructs its members and the public on all areas of horticulture and stimulates interest in the beautification of our community. Our club is a member of the Garden Club Federation of Massachusetts and is thriving after 35 years. Our active and honorary members are interested gardeners with all levels of experience.

Our Objectives

  • Advancement of Gardening
  • Development of Home Grounds
  • Furthering of Civic Beautification
Join Us

We welcome new members. Contact either Michele Noonan or Emily Nicodemus, our co-presidents, if you are interested in joining our club. 2020 – 2021 Membership form.

Our email is gardenclubofnorfolkma@gmail.com

Club Officers

Co-Presidents  – Michelle Noonan and Emily Nicodemus
Recording Secretary  – Joanne Wason
Corresponding Secretary – Stephanie Ackley
Treasurer  – Nia Tzellas
Membership – Stephanie Hamel

Our Program

Our program includes guest speakers from our community and throughout the New England area who share their expertise in horticulture, floral design, conservation, civic beautification, landscape design, and gardening. We also provide hands-on craft and flower arranging workshops.

Meetings and Workshops

Our meetings and workshops are held on the second Wednesday of each month at 7:00 p.m., except in January, July and August when there are no meetings. Meetings take place in the Community Room of the Norfolk Public Library unless otherwise noted in the calendar.

NCG (Norfolk Community Gardens)

NCG is organized by a core group of members who are committed to civic beautification and who have taken ownership of particular areas within the Town of Norfolk. Each NCG area has its own committee; any member is welcome to join and help in any of the areas. Each committee is responsible for the design, planting, and maintenance (deadheading, weeding, watering) of their ACE area during the summer months. Each committee acts independently and the club provides flowers. The Garden Club is currently responsible for the following areas: Center of Town Roundabouts, H. Olive Day School Sign, H. Olive Day School Butterfly Garden, Federated Church Butterfly Garden, Stony Brook Butterfly Garden, Police and Fire Station Sign, Town Hall Sign, Town Hall Planters, Town Hill Adele’s Bird House Garden, Town Hill Herb Garden, Town Hill Rose Garden, Welcome to Norfolk Sign, and Library Entrance Garden. Each month the Garden Club also places a floral arrangement in the Norfolk Public Library.

Hospitality Committee

Each member serves on one Hospitality Committee each year. Monthly Responsibilities are:

  • Arrange a meeting to decide on the refreshments and floral theme for the meeting.
  • Arrive 45 minutes prior to the meeting to set up chairs and tables and assist speaker in loading and unloading and setting up necessary materials. Provide refreshments and paper goods. Stay and participate in cleanup after the meeting.
  • If unable to fulfill duties on this committee,  please arrange for a substitute and contact other monthly hospitality committee members.

Spring Plant and Bake Sale
Each spring, a Plant and Bake Sale, is held on the Norfolk Town Hill and Gazebo. A wide selection of perennials supplied from our club members’ gardens benefit civic beautification and club projects. Members are on hand to answer gardening questions.

Committee Chairman

NCG Coordinator –  Sam Benton, Leslie Lincoln
NGC Database – Sam Benton, Lyn Benton, Ev Benton
Awards/Grants – Liz Davey, Emily Nicodemus, Stephanie Hamel
Club Photographer –  Stephanie Markham
Educational Display (Library) – Open
Garden Therapy –
Sally Eykel, Susan Schmidt
Holiday Baskets – Helena Drolette, Michele Drolette
Hospitality –
Anne Prior, Sharon Pierce
Gardening  with Girl Scouts – Michelle Noonan, Kathleen Callahan
Native Plant Committee – Michelle Noonan, Stephanie Ackley, Nia Tzellas-Davis, Leslie         Lincoln, and Stephanie Markham, Ann Marie Hennessey
Newsletter – Susan McCarthy
Norfolk’s 150th Anniversary – Helena Drolette, Michele Drolette
Plant & Bake Sale Michelle Noonan and Nia Tzelias-Davis (Plants); Sharon Pierce (Food), Leslie Lincoln (Yard Sale), Garbrielle Dias (Lawn Signs)
Scholarships – Anne Prior, Stephanie Hamel, Susan Schmidt, Kathleen Callahan
Seed Swap & Winter Seeding Workshop – Liz Davey, Stephanie Markham
Yearbook/Bookmark – Liz Davey, Stephanie Hamel
Website – Stephanie Markham, Emily Nicodemus, Stephanie Ackley
Welcome New Members – Stephanie Hamel, Sharon Pierce, Anne Prior, Kathleen                   Callahan

NCG Committees
The Garden Club is currently responsible for the following areas.

Center of Town Roundabouts: Joanne Wason, Dot Chitty
Olive Day School Sign: Joanne Wason, Rick Tedoldi, Gabrielle Dias
Butterfly Gardens (H. Olive Day School, Federated Church and Stony Brook): Stephanie Markham, Emily Nicodemus, Michelle Noonan, Stephanie Ackley, Stephanie Hamel, Fran Sullivan
Police and Fire Station Sign: Nia Tzellas, Sharon Fenton, Lyn Benton, Sam Benton
Town Hall Planters: Sharon Pierce, Stephanie Hamel, Marybeth Stewart
Town Hall Sign -Leslie Lincoln, Gambrielle Dias
Town Hill Adele’s Birdhouse Garden and Town Hall Sign: Leslie Lincoln, Ann Hanssen,
Town Hill Herb Garden: Susan Brindley, Liz Davey, Marybeth Stewart
Town Hill Rose Garden: Liz Davey, Susan Brindley, Janet Turner
Welcome to Norfolk Sign – Michele Drolette, Susan McCarthy
Library Entrance Circle – Stephanie Hamel, Sharon Pierce, Mary Beth Stewart, Ann Marie Hennessey

Library Flowers:

July                 Michelle Noonan
August            Kathleen Callahan
September     Sally Eykel
October          Helena Drolette
November     Anne Prior
December      Sam and Lyn Benton
January          Ann Hanssen
February        Sharon Pierce
March             Mary Beth Stewart
April                Susan Schmidt
May                 Gabrielle Dias
June                 Nia Tzellas-Davis

Former Presidents

2017-2019  Michele Drolette, Anne Prior
2015-2017  Liz Davey
2013-2015  Sharon Pierce
2011-2013  Martha  Richardson
2010-2011  Mary Gould
2008-2010  Brenda Zolli
2005-2008  Gail Tuveson
2003-2005  Helena Drolette
2002-2003  Anna Sevy
2000-2002  Gail McCaffrey
1998-2000  Gail Tuveson
1996-1998  Helena Drolette
1994-1996  Lisa Shook
1993-1994  Rita Partridge
1991-1993  Debby DeBello
1989-1991  Jan Conklin
1988-1989  Tricia Cochran
1987-1988  Joan Smith
1985-1987  Helena Drolette